Pro League Season 7 shapes up with relegation matches at Mtn Dew League Global Challenge
It’s time to find out which teams will play in Season 7 of the ESL Pro League!

Today marks the day of the MDL play-in matches for Season 7 of the ESL Pro League. It’s time to determine which teams will go straight to Season 7 and who will have to fight through the relegation gauntlet on Sunday and Monday.

Taking place in New York at the MDL Global Challenge, for the first time ever Pro League relegation will be played offline in high quality tournament conditions to ensure that all teams can perform to the best of their abilities.

Two teams from EU and two teams from NA are hoping to clinch their direct ticket to the ESL Pro League today. The winners of each region’s match will enjoy a guaranteed Pro League spot for the upcoming season, while the losers get to face the two relegation-threatened teams from the Season 6 regular season and the third placed team from the MDL playoffs in a battle for the last two remaining spots.

Here are today’s play-in matches:


AGO vs eXtatus


Rise Nation vs Soar

Watch today’s matches live at twitch.tv/ESEA - starting at 10am ET!

After we have determined the first relegation team for each region during the play-in, the double-elimination relegation will follow on Sunday and Monday, January 7-8, featuring the losing teams from today’s matches.


  • Loser of AGO vs eXtatus
  • Na’Vi
  • Godsent
  • Space Soldiers


  • Loser of Rise Nation vs Soar
  • Rogue
  • Ghost Gaming
  • GX

The relegation broadcast starts on Sunday with the first EU matches at 14:00 EST / 20:00 CET, followed by the NA matches at 16:00 EST / 22:00 CET. Monday we’ll find out which teams will make the cut with all remaining matches, starting at 10:00 EST / 16:00 CET. Tune into the official YouTube streams right here.

The ESL Pro League is brought to you by Intel, Nvidia GeForce GTX, Legion by Lenovo, Logitech, paysafecard, xfinity, MDL and YouTube.